The Hot Glue Gun Vase

I made these cute flower vases that you can use to decorate your table for a brunch with friends or a romantic dinner with a loved one.

 20141115_183819

You will need only 4 things to make these.

1. Vase(s) of your choice (I bought mine off of Amazon.com. I think I spent around $13 for the both of them)

2. Spray paint of your choice. (I chose a glossy one; you can use a matte spray paint)

3. Hot glue gun

4. Alcohol wipes to clean the surface of your vase. (You can use a cotton ball with some alcohol on it)

20141115_170052

Step One:

Wipe your vase clean with alcohol wipes or a cotton ball with alcohol on it.

Step Two:

Heat up your glue gun and write whatever your heart desires. I wrote “love” and “hi”. I also drew hearts on them.

(I will admit, this was really hard to do. I tend to have a steady hand when drawing or painting minuscule things, but it was impossible to control the flow of the glue while trying to keep the stringy ends to a minimum. You can see the stringy and tapered ends that make it messy. However, I think I did a pretty good job for my first time.)

20141115_171316 20141115_171554 20141115_171601

Step Three: 

Spray paint it with a paint of your choice. I chose a glossy-finish cream-colored spray paint. I purchased this at Walmart for less than $4.

(Follow the instructions on your paint can.)

20141115_174531 20141115_174703

This is the result after spraying my final coat of paint.

20141115_175258

The words came out a little messy but from a distance, they’re cute and I think they can be a fun, do-it-yourself project to turn boring vases into a decorative table center piece.

Try it out and let me know how it went for you in the comments. (:

Leave a Reply

